Lets Jamface

Here in little old Adelaide we tend to love our foodies and no more than our very own Master Chef pro Poh Ling Yeow. When it was heard along the social media grapevine that she was setting up shop within the Central Market, I went a little fan crazy and couldn’t wait.

Now its open and ready for business.

Jamface only recently opened in November and before then, I would walk past occasionally to see if I could catch a glimpse behind their mysterious dark curtain, but alas I had to wait. After a few looks and checking up on their social media they finally opened their doors, and welcomed customers.

I grabbed my sister and we headed on out. Excited was an understatement. I’ve always loved watching Poh on TV, even after her Master Chef days. Her warmth and happiness you can feel through the TV as she cook. She even had a stall at the Market Shed, making and selling some real good paella, like reallllyyyy good.

So sitting within her beautiful little shop and watching the staff work away, felt pretty cool. I still get a little star struck when I see her, I have to admit.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with k2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with k2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with k2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with k2 preset

The shop is filled with little cakes and desserts, with also a selection of salads and sandwiches. With of course with their very own jam and juice mix.

The space is filled with her art work, colours and little trinkets. It feels warm and intimate and a good escape from the busy lane way from the other customers. Also when you do have a sit inside, the tile work on the tables were design and made by Poh herself.

Processed with VSCOcam with k1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with k2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with k2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with k2 preset

Me and my sister moved into the corner at the back, and decided on our orders. I was feeling for some pancakes, but went for something savory in the end, a pastrami sandwich with swish cheese, american mustard and coleslaw, my sister on the other hand went for the buttermilk pancakes.

The pancakes were amazingly soft and light, and my sandwich was the savory hit I needed. As we sat and chatted away, more people came by and even more walk past to see what was inside.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with k2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with k2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with k2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with k2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with k2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with k2 preset

The Central Market is busy, a little warn and rough on the design front, but that’s its charm. Anything new that opens up tend to bring it more life and activity. Its also at the beginning of the food district on the south/middle end of the city, and always great to go to on Friday nights. However the market do close on the Sundays, which is odd, but allows all the other Sunday Market around the city to thrive.

Me and my sister went back to Jamface the following week to take my friend to see it, and we ended up taking a few cakes slices with us for the travel and even a pic of Poh herself. But I’ll put my hand up and say I did get a little shy, so only my sis got a picture, though i’m sure i’ll get another opportunity.

Processed with VSCOcam with k2 preset

 

Jamface opens on Tuesday, Thursday, Fridays and Saturdays.

Between 9:00 – 5:30

So if you have a chance, do swing by, the staff are really lovely, and you might even get to say hi to the owner.

Thanks for reading.

 

 

Leave a Reply

