YYK —> ADL

A good friend of mine, Haneen Martin – Founder of Zombie Queen and Consulting, has been working very hard over the last couple of years. She has been doing many jobs, still finishing her architecture degree and she is on her way of becoming a house hold name within the artist circles, and yesterday I was able to get some time on my hands and head down to her latest curating gig for YYK —> ADL (From Yogyakarta to Adelaide)

I met Haneen through an offshore studio course at university. Our studio was being held in Malaysia and Singapore, and we would travel over and study the culture and in particularly the architecture and how that has developed over the years and the current changes that are developing. It was an amazing experience and we had many great memories. Through our friendship I grew an understanding that architecture was never a great passion of hers, but instead art was.

YYK —> ADL is her first international artist curating event. The works consist of paintings, drawings and prints from two artist from Indonesia, Ryan Ady Putra and Okta Samid, and a great South Australian artist Jake Holmes thrown in the mix.  I wasn’t able to go to the opening night of the exhibition, but when the final week of its exhibit I thought I would better head on down and take my recently new art groupie friend Tin.

Processed with VSCOcam with g2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g1 preset

The exhibition is held at The Mill. It is a large warehouse that allows its offices and spaces to be rented out to up and coming artists and designers. It is a great space to connect and form relationships with people who are creative and passionate about their works, they are also heaps chilled people who are more than welcome to show you around.

Processed with VSCOcam with g1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g2 preset

“the artist’s struggle is the same. Through the magic of social media, we can selectively project and curate only the most desirable aspects of our lives that where we are and who we are almost becomes irrelevant. The plight of the contemporary artist looks simple. Wake up, draw, post on Instagram, sleep, repeat.”  – the mill

Processed with VSCOcam with g2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g1 preset

The comic strip was my favourite part of the exhibition, though it was not in order, it had these awesome style of drawing and some of the scenes were very relevant to our present generation.

Also on the day I happen to buy a cupcake for my friend, and it just seemed very convenient and couldn’t help myself.

Processed with VSCOcam with g2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g2 preset

Tin and I also tried our hand of capturing the ironic subject of a selfie.

Processed with VSCOcam with s2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g1 preset

The topic of how Instagram is becoming the next tool of life editing is interesting subject matter. For me I was all for the beautiful photos, well edited clean details and the great food, product and bouquet shots, even noticing how conveniently the photos also complimented the instagrammers wall. But then it started to feel strange coming from an account that was not a company or a business and the human input and candid shots was the missing ingredient, that raw and “insta”nce life moment shots were lost. Though capturing a sad event is never an ideal Instagram post, but capturing a raw emotions or thought on a subject should be encourage, and not to be afraid to put out a flaw or two, or strong opinion, like the great and mighty Lena Dunham, who does this well, but that’s just my opinion.

My Instagram journey, which sounds weird saying, started off with the direction and wanting to capture the products I’ve invested in, or splurge on, as well as the typical over the head food shots. I could never put myself out there, since to me my life never seem that lively or well traveled. As I matured this changed, I still do the food shots (I mean how can you not, I mean if the table spread looks amazing, everyone needs to know) but I started to prefer capturing moments, no matter how small they were and little thoughts, then “stuff” and what I have bought. Now even beginning to put myself out there, and even start posting photos that are not typically classed as beautiful, a little grainy, a little out of focus. But like my boyfriend keeps saying, to each his own, or his more preferred saying, different strokes for different blokes.

Processed with VSCOcam with g1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g2 preset

The Mill is located 154 Angas St, Adelaide. It is a very welcoming space, and you can walk in and check out their latest works of art on the walls and even peek in the back to see what the artist are up to. Do check out their Facebook page and see whats coming up next, and my friends Facebook page Zombie Queen Art & Consulting, and see whats she is up to.

After we look around, Tin and I sat down on their comfy couches and talked and chilled some more. Before heading off and finding ourselves some cold ciders to cool off the warm weather we were experiencing that day.

The exhibitions is in its final week, and won’t be around for too long. So if your in Adelaide go check it out, and even the spaces in the back.

Hope you enjoyed this post, have a good day (or night, evening or morning 🙂 )

Processed with VSCOcam with g2 preset

Leave a Reply

