Here comes the Fringe

We call it Mad March and for good reason. As I had mentioned it before in my last post, this event really takes the city by storm. But the Fringe is only one of the events that takes over Adelaide, and its a big one. It starts in February and ends in March.

On Friday Peter and I journeyed into the city for the annual Fringe Parade. After our quick bite at La Rambla we made it back to King William and lined up behind a mass of people to try and get a glimpse. I must admit we should have been there a lot earlier and being only just over 153cm tall (yes heels are definitely my best friend) it was tough at times, but since Peter has much longer arms and legs than me, he took some of the photos for me. A lot of love here.

DSC_0080

DSC_0170

DSC_0153

The fringe parade was a mix of Marti gra, Club dance floor and something wonderfully uniquely Adelaidean. People really came out and embraced it, families made real efforts and came with rugs and chairs and lined up the streets. The music was really good, though it felt like I was in an open club with random kids here and there. But the music really made people relaxed and get into the spirit of the Fringe.

DSC_0118

DSC_0120

DSC_0126

DSC_0127

The Fringe is a collection of performers, artist, comedians and everything in between, which was all on show in the parade. They even have large dolls that lit up the street.

DSC_0129

DSC_0130

DSC_0158

DSC_0180

DSC_0206

It also had an amazing homage to the Aboriginal culture and the fire display was nothing I had seen before.

DSC_0097

DSC_0101

DSC_0107

DSC_0108

DSC_0109

DSC_0111

DSC_0113

But wait there is more…

DSC_0135

DSC_0138

DSC_0173
The man next to me said it really well “Its like something from Sia”

DSC_0197

DSC_0201
This was a favourite of mine. I loved the dancing and the plane itself.

DSC_0208

I wasn’t too sure about this one, but it brought humour I am guessing??

DSC_0209

DSC_0216

DSC_0215

The parade was short and sweet; it didn’t go too long and once it ended some people followed the floats down the road, whilst others went their separate ways, rushing quickly to catch their train and buses. Some even went to an open bar and drank their Friday night away. Peter and I just headed home to escape the warm city heat.

Leave a Reply

